Best of FilmExodus: The Top 100 Reviews & Editorials of 2018 (100-76)

Reviews allow people a chance to get a feel of a film or television show before actually watching it. A well-written review can persuade a person to either see or avoid a film. There’s a sense of power in writing your opinion down on page and the feeling inside you is nothing you have ever felt before.

Editorials expand on this feeling. Instead of just reviewing a film, you are pulling apart and analyzing every single scene. The writer has to ponder why a director made this decision or shot this scene with that lighting. A good editorial can make the reader completely rethink a film he may have already seen countless times.

Over the next four days, FilmExodus will be counting down its top 100 most viewed reviews and editorials of 2018. Enjoy.


100. Fox Still Refuses To Give Up On Fant4stic Related Properties With The Silver Surfer

Joe Newman | March 7, 2018

After three failed attempts at adapting the Fantastic Four for the silver screen,  Fox still continues to stick its tongue out at Disney and Marvel Studios as they try to keep the rights to some of Marvel’s characters that they don’t know what to do with.  The news comes through an article from The Hollywood Reporter titled “Will Disney Disrupt Fox’s X-Men Movie Mega-Plans?“, which is about Fox developing as many projects as possible without knowing how the tentative Disney merger will effect them. They mention that, in my mind, the wonderful Brian K. Vaughan (BKV) has been tapped to write the film. | Read more >>


99. What’s On The Grill? October 3rd – October 10th

Vincent Kane | October 10, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: Cross another four of my Halloween watch list, a musical drama worthy of some award buzz, a 90’s teen angst classic and a gorgeous and violent thriller. | Read More >>


98. Road to Infinity: ‘Ant-Man’ (2015) Review

Poppity | April 17, 2018

This review is likely to be somewhat of a black sheep compared to the others in this series simply because I am not overly familiar with the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). In fact, I did not even know what ‘MCU’ stood for when I first saw it! Nevertheless, I have seen a handful of the Marvel films and completed over 96% of the Lego Marvel Superheroes computer game which helped me identify some of the seemingly endless array of Marvel characters. (Since writing this review, I have also attained 100% of the Lego Marvel Avengers computer game. I even surprise myself!) My viewpoints will mainly be based on Ant-Man itself without really referring to the hard copy comic book story version or to the link with other MCU films and heroes. | Read More >>


97. The 25 Greatest Christmas Movies Of All Time (25-17)

Sailor Monsoon & Marmaduke Karlston | December 20, 2018

The winter timed holidays are nothing if not a collection of traditions. Some are religious themed festivals, each with their own distinct practices, while others celebrate the aligning of the earth with the sun. Everyone has their own beliefs and traditions but no holiday has as many traditions like Christmas. Some countries honor St. Nicholas (who was the inspiration for Santa Claus), while others teach their children to fear the young’n stealing Krampus. The English like wearing paper crowns and eating gross deserts, while Americans like getting drunk on eggnog, gifting fruit cake to people we hate and going overboard on presents and decorations. | Read More >>


96. Let’s Talk About… ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’ (1975)

Luke Austin | May 29, 2018

The 1970s were a time of change and mistrust in America. A newfound environmental movement, women’s right’s activists, and the antiwar movement brought about new changes in America while the Watergate scandal and Vietnam War brought Nixon to resign and bred a new cynicism toward politics in America. Young people began to do as they pleased to the chagrin of the “New Right”; they broke traditional norms by doing drugs, having sex, and focused more on themselves creating a profoundly personal movement. | Read More >>


95. FilmExodus Ranks the Films of Pixar

FilmExodus Community | June 16, 2018

In a couple of days, Incredibles 2, the long awaited sequel to the hit 2004 film The Incredibles, opens in theaters. In anticipation, the FilmExodus Community decided to go through the Pixar filmography and rank the previous nineteen films by the studio. In case you missed it, in 2017 we ranked the Spider-Man and Star Wars films, and kicked off 2018 with the Marvel Cinematic Universe. In an instance where a film did not appear on a contributer’s list, a multiplier was applied to give each film a fair point total (not that it mattered in one series’ case). Which film ended up where and why? Let’s find out, shall we? | Read More >>


94. 2018 Year in Review (The Good)

Sailor Monsoon | December 28, 2018

The end of the year brings with it many traditions. It’s a time to reflect on the things we’ve went through, the state of the world (it ain’t great) and to arbitrarily rank our favorite movies for complete strangers to criticize and mock on the internet. It’s that time once again, for every Tom, Dick and Harry with an opinion to list their favorite movies of the year. This list, however, is a bit different in that I’ve ranked every film I’ve seen, not just my favorites. Oh and that my rankings are correct. | Read More >>


93. What’s On The Grill? November 7th – November 14th

Vincent Kane | November 14, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: A musical roller coaster about one of the greatest front men in history, a couple of trips to Hogwarts, a female high school comedy and a lot of Queen YouTube videos that I have been watching all week. Enjoy! | Read More >>


92. What’s On The Grill? August 1st – 8th

Vincent Kane | August 8, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: A foreign revenge flick, A “classic” zombie tale, another stellar Michael Shannon performance, and a lot of Soprano’s! | Read More >>


91. The 100 Greatest Cartoons Of All Time (100-91)

Sailor Monsoon | September 2, 2017

Animation is a storytelling medium unlike any other. It isn’t restricted by budget or bound by logic. The only imitations are that of the imagination. A child didn’t understand that Speed Racer was animated on 3’s, saving time and paper but giving it an unnatural motion that’s been parodied dozens of times. They didn’t give a shit because the car was cool and there was a monkey in it. No kid cares why Bugs Bunny can talk or why the Simpsons are yellow. They’ll accept it because it’s animated. Cartoons have to ability to suck us in but also present a world that we’ll instantly accept. Nothing taps into the imagination like cartoons, Whether it’s old school like The Ruff and Reddy Show (Not on the list) or brand new like The Happy Fun Times of Bojack Horseman (That’s not the title), animation has been here since the beginning and it shows no signs of going anywhere. | Read More >>


90. Let’s Talk About… ‘Forrest Gump’ (1994)

Sailor Monsoon | August 3, 2018

[Ed. Note: This is not a typical AFI review. There’s no point in giving a plot summary because I know you know what happens. A mentally handicapped man who can run faster than a slow dog, gets into a whole bunch of wacky shenanigans and eventually contracts AIDS (or at the very least gonorrhea) from his ex. Ping pong and shrimp are involved. I’m also not going to talk about Tom Hank‘s now legendary performance. In fact, as you’ll eventually figure out, I really had no desire in reviewing Forrest Gump. I’m much more interested in its place in pop culture and why it’s socially acceptable to shit on it now, even though everyone used to love it. So sit back, relax and get settled in for 1500 words of idiotic ramblings and half thoughts that tangentially connect to the film in question. Enjoy.] | Read More >>


89. ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ Season 5×12 Review: “The Real Deal” (100th Episode)

Marmaduke Karlston | March 9, 2018

100th episodes usually have a lot of callbacks that work to varying affects. Arrow‘s 100th episode was a nice emotional “What If?” scenario, and tonight S.H.I.E.L.D. did something similar. It made us briefly question everything we had ever watched on this show. | Read More >>


88. ‘Three Billboards’ is a Deeply Important Prestige Picture (some minor spoilers)

Cap N’ Jack | January 8, 2018

Today, I went and saw Martin McDonagh’s third feature film Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri. McDonagh’s films take some time to digest (his initial feature went from a film I liked to one I consider a masterpiece over a period of years), but after having had an afternoon to think about it, Three Billboards has solidified in my mind as not only a great film but an important statement on hatred and violence, subtly masked in layers of black comedy. | Read More >>


87. Lenz on Cinema: Two with Thompson

Mark Naff | November 5, 2018

In the early 1960’s, British genre filmmaker J. Lee Thompson made two films with Gregory Peck: The Guns of Navarone (1961) and Cape Fear (1962). The Guns of Navarone was a World War II adventure, while Cape Fear told the story of a family trying to survive a rapist’s brutal revenge plot against the family patriarch. Thompson received an Oscar nomination for Navarone, but lost to Robert Wise for West Side Story. Both of these films would come to define a large portion of Thompson’s career, as he directed both tense thrillers and large action adventure films for the rest of his career. | Read More >>


86. What’s On The Grill? May 2nd – 9th

Vincent Kane | May 9, 2018

Welcome Exiles to my first rendition of  What’s On The Grill?, the weekl…er…occasional mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. On the grill this week is a disturbed musical, a little Tarkovsky, a couple throwback horror flicks. Enjoy! | Read More >>


85. What’s On The Grill? May 16th – May 23rd

Vincent Kane | May 23, 2018

On the grill this week is a “merc with a mouth” who must face off against a futuristic ass kicker, one of the best performances in 2017, and a heavy hitting look at the housing market and it’s close to home impact. Also there is a new addition to the Grill called “Shorts from the ‘tubes”. Simply some movie shorts that I came across from the twisted wonderland that is YouTube. | Read More >>


84. Review: Midnight Express

Adam Kieswetter | June 23, 2017

“May it pass quickly…” Turkish term. I can only hope that if I ever end up in a Turkish prison on trumped up charges involving hash smuggling (which let’s face it – it’s entirely likely), Randy Quaid will greet me there with some good brotherly solace and a rocket in his hand to kill the pain. Here I am finally watching Midnight Express for reasons not entirely specific, and though it is a cult classic as they say, this one deserves the status. Watching an old film can be satisfying and alluring and terrifying in ways a new film can’t; regardless of the star power or wagon loads of money they throw into it. And for similar reasons, finding yourself watching a film with an unknown actor in it can please and surprise in ways great and known actors cannot. | Read More >>


83. Road to Infinity: ‘Captain America: Civil War’ (2016) Review

Marmaduke Karlston | April 18, 2018

In 2006, Marvel Comics released a seven issue limited series that forever changed comics. Civil War was the brainchild of writer Mark Millar centered around the idea of the government creating a Superhuman Registration Act. Millar has said: “I opted instead for making the superhero dilemma something a little different. People thought they were dangerous, but they did not want a ban. What they wanted was superheroes paid by the federal government like cops and open to the same kind of scrutiny. It was the perfect solution and nobody, as far as I’m aware, has done this before.” | Read More >>


82. Let’s Talk About… ’Midnight Cowboy’ (1969)

William Dhalgren | May 16, 2018

On July 21st, 1969, two American astronauts, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin, became the first humans to walk on the moon. A little over one year earlier, on April 4th, 1968, Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated outside his motel in Memphis, Tennessee. These two seemingly unrelated events hang like dueling punctuation marks on the end of an already tumultuous decade. The first signified a nation’s, perhaps even the world’s, hope for the future. The two astronauts even left a plaque on the moon with the refrain “We came in peace for all mankind.” But if Armstrong and Aldrin’s walk on the moon was an excited exclamation point for American achievement, King’s murder was certainly a question mark. | Read More >>


81. Let’s Talk About… ‘Legion’ Season 2×1: “Chapter 9”

DryButSoupy | April 6, 2018

My favorite television head trip, Legion, returned this week. It’s back and as Legiony as ever.  This show is not what I expected when I first began to watch last season. It’s not like other super hero shows. In fact, it’s barely a super hero show at all. And that, I think, is one reason it works so well. It’s a show about people with crazy abilities…telekinesis, telepathy and the like, but that’s where the similarities end. There are no colorful costumes. No villains of the week. It’s a hard show to categorize. It’s definitely its own thing. You just have to accept that it’s crazy and hold on tight. | Read More >>


80. Retro Actor Spotlight: William Holden

Poppity | April 9, 2018

I do not think I am alone in acknowledging that I first became aware of William Holden when learning details about his death. Though he did not die in an overly gruesome or tragic fashion, his passing was unexpected and the circumstances of both how he died and the discovery of his body were troublesome. Often times, we hold movie stars in an untouchable reverence like they are superhuman, being able to escape mortal dangers and live on forever. Someone as handsome, bright, talented and sensitive as Holden should have been destined to leave this world in a more honourable fashion, worthy of an incredibly popular and beloved Hollywood star. He was a unique presence; one that is certainly missed to this day. | Read More >>


79. What’s On The Grill? July 25th – August 1st

Vincent Kane | August 1, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: A journey through some classic pop culture, an intimate sci fi tale, a classic game night to remember, a living nightmare, and some spy thriller fun. Enjoy! | Read More >>


78. [Double Impact] ‘Galaxy Destroyer’ (1986)

BB Ben & Sailor Monsoon | July 24, 2018

From the twisted minds of BB Ben and Sailor Monsoon comes a new collaborative review series called Double Impact! For these opinion pieces, we watch a film, discuss it, and then Sailor turns our drunken conversations into something legible and entertaining! There is no rhyme or reason to the movie selection process, but don’t be surprised if we lean heavily on garbage action films (that’s right, Chuck Norris, the meme stops here). Strap in, Exiles. This is–Double Impact! | Read More >>


77. What’s On The Grill? August 29th – Sept 5th

Vincent Kane | September 5, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: a near future cyber punk flick, a group trying survive in the  land of zombies, one of my all time favorites and “There was a fire fight!!”. Enjoy! | Read More >>


76. The Easter Eggs You Missed in ‘Hereditary’

Saint Pauly | December 7, 2018

There’s an old expression in English which says never discuss religion or politics, or your thoughts on Hereditary. Director Ari Aster’s 2018 intellectual horror film divides opinions (there are those who love it and those who are wrong), but one thing most can agree on is that there is a lot going on in Hereditary, and much of it is below the surface. When the film ends, all viewers, love it or hate it, are left with an aftertaste of WTF and the sensation they didn’t understand everything. And they’re right. They didn’t. This article attempts to alleviate a little of that aftertaste. | Read More >>


Tomorrow… #75 to 50!