Best of FilmExodus: The Top 100 Reviews & Editorials of 2018 (75-51)

Reviews allow people a chance to get a feel of a film or television show before actually watching it. A well-written review can persuade a person to either see or avoid a film. There’s a sense of power in writing your opinion down on page and the feeling inside you is nothing you have ever felt before.

Editorials expand on this feeling. Instead of just reviewing a film, you are pulling apart and analyzing every single scene. The writer has to ponder why a director made this decision or shot this scene with that lighting. A good editorial can make the reader completely rethink a film he may have already seen countless times.

Starting last Monday, FilmExodus has been counting down its top 100 most viewed reviews and editorials of 2018. Enjoy.

Previous Installment: 100-76.


75. Lenz on Cinema: Sex and Violence

Mark Naff | November 12, 2018

Sexuality played a big role in Kay Lenz’s early career. Many of her early roles featured her entering into a sexual relationship with a much older man. She has appeared in the sex magazines Partner, High Society, Celebrity Sleuth, and Celebrity Skin (which recounted her career in its 2011 issue about Classic Nudes from the 1970’s and 1980’s). In 1984, she starred in the music video for Rod Stewart’s Infatuation, in which she undresses in front of her window and appears throughout the video in various bikinis. | Read More >>


74. When Romance Turns Deadly: The Postmodern Domestic Thriller

Mark Naff | September 14, 2018

The Postmodern Domestic Thriller does something that the modern domestic thriller does not: it makes the audience question the perspective of the story. In all of the previous examples mentioned, there’s a clear hero and villain. Oftentimes in the postmodern version, the film reveals that every plot point up until that point in the story has been a game or scheme perpetuated by a character. The genre became more knowing, oftentimes incorporating comedy, satire, and questioning who’s telling the truth. | Read More >>


73. The 100 Greatest Cartoons Of All Time (X-treme Remix Edition)

Sailor Monsoon | September 18, 2017

In the 90’s, whenever a company wanted to rebrand their image, they would simply slap the word “extreme” (usually spelled x-treme) somewhere on the cover and boom, instant success. Consider this the X-treme rebranding of a list you’ve already read but now 73% slightly different. The more observant amongst you will tell that the order is shuffled around a bit. Don’t be alarmed, you’re not going crazy. It is, in fact, “shuffled around a bit.” But that’s not all! I’ve also cut some of the chaff and added some cartoons that almost made the cut originally. Oh and now it’s all on one page for a more streamlined experience. | Read More >>


72. What’s On The Grill? August 8th – August 15th

Vincent Kane | August 15, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: Some deep sea fun, a sports rom-drama, a little trashy horror and a whole lot of Mafia problems. Enjoy! | Read More >>


71. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (20-11)

Sailor Monsoon | March 30, 2018

The Monomyth was first conceived by Joseph Campbell in his 1949 novel The Hero with a Thousand Faces. It is a literary term conceptualized by Campbell that details the stages of the hero’s journey. He identified a pattern throughout mythology and literature and condensed it down to seventeen stages. Hollywood executive Christopher Vogler would later edit it down to twelve stages and his version would be the blueprint that every film would use from then on. The Ordinary World, The Call to Adventure, Refusal of the Call, Meeting with the Mentor, Crossing the first Threshold, Tests, Allies and Enemies, Approach of the Innermost Cave, The Ordeal, The Reward, The Road Back, The Resurrection and The Return with the Elixir. | Read More >>


70. Road to Infinity: ‘Thor: Ragnarok’ (2017) Review

Mr Splendiferous | April 24, 2018

Thor: Ragnarok is a complete 180 from Thor: The Dark World, which, in my opinion, is a very good thing.  Director Taika Waititi (What We Do in the Shadows) gives us a film that is split 50/50 in terms of full on action and comedy. The film is very brightly lit and this allows the colors to pop off the screen. Some reviewers thought Thor: Ragnarok was too comedic, but one must remember that the best parts in the previous Thor entries were the bits of comedy that were spliced in the action set pieces and family drama. | Read More >>


69. ‘The Orville’ > ‘Star Trek: Discovery’ – F$@(* YOU RICK BERMAN

DBMI | September 25, 2017

Disclaimer: Star Trek is basically my warm blanket. TNG and Voyager are my favourite. TOS is great, DS9 I heard gets really good but you don’t put religion in my Trek. Enterprise was good (despite the opening), only because they brought Spiner back and expanded on the Khan mythos. | Read More >>


68. Road to Infinity: ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ (2015) Review

NoDuh! | April 16, 2018

The year 2015 brought us the Marvel Cinematic Universe‘s most anticipated, and ultimately one of the more disappointing, entries into its repertoire of films. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Avengers: Age of Ultron! Age of Ultron was the MCU’s 11th film and a direct sequel to 2012’s Marvel’s The Avengers, which was the highest-grossing comic-book adaptation, the highest-grossing superhero film, and the highest-grossing film ever released by Walt Disney Studios, at the time of its release, so… it had a lot to live up to. | Read More >>


67. What’s On The Grill? Football Edition! August 15th – 22nd

Vincent Kane | August 22, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: Well it’s almost the greatest time of the year and that’s fall! Cooler weather, Halloween, Turkey day and football!!! Before the season starts we always like to get pumped by watching some of our favorite football movies. Enjoy! | Read More >>


66. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (80-71)

Sailor Monsoon | March 16, 2018

Just like how every script has a three act structure, every film that involves a hero on a quest can be broken down to these twelve elements. But that doesn’t mean that each step is important. The formula may be ironclad but there’s one step that’s far more crucial than the others and that’s step six: Tests, Allies, and Enemies. The hero can be uninteresting and the quest uninspired but if your villain is lame, nobody will remember. The hero is only as memorable as the villain he’s fighting. James Bond is one of the most iconic characters ever but the only films anyone gives a shit about are the ones where the villain is amazing. | Read More >>


65. Let’s Talk About… ‘Jaws’ (1975)

Mr. Poppity | May 22, 2018

I watched Jaws for the first time in the early 1980’s when I was rather young. It literally terrified me and came to haunt my thoughts from time to time for many years. Having learned that Jaws is actually on the AFI 100 Greatest Films list, I wanted to watch it again and see how my impressions had changed over time. It should be safe as the 80’s are long gone and I’m a big boy now. | Read More >>


64. [Double Impact] ‘Double Impact’ (1991)

BB Ben & Sailor Monsoon | May 21, 2018

From the twisted minds of BB Ben and Sailor Monsoon comes a new collaborative review series called Double Impact! For these opinion pieces, we watch a film, discuss it, and then Sailor turns our conversation into something legible and entertaining! There is no rhyme or reason to the movie selection process, but don’t be surprised if we lean heavily on garbage action films (that’s right, Chuck Norris, the meme stops here). Strap in, Exiles. This is–Double Impact! | Read More >>


63. The 10 Best Directors to Helm ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3’

Sailor Monsoon | August 24, 2018

The firing of James Gunn off of Guardians of the Galaxy 3 is turning into a landmine of a topic. Everyone has their opinion or hot take, so to navigate these dangerous waters (I.e, without indulging in political speculation or painting anyone as a villain), here are the facts: | Read More >>


62. What’s On The Grill? May 23rd – May 30th

Vincent Kane | May 30, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekl…er…occasional mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: a Michael Bay shoot out in Benghazi, a dark comedy that is awkward in all the right places, Pacino portraying a fallen “hero”, an 80’s rock n roll animation, some superhero television and more short fun from YouTube. Enjoy! | Read More >>


61. ‘Black Mirror’ 1×01 Review: “National Anthem”

Stephanie Lekas | February 7, 2018

Black Mirror.  An anthology series which to me means I could start with any episode and not be lost – other than the different levels of confusion from just watching one episode kind of lost me. With so many people talking about it, I decided to give it a go and started with season one, episode one. National Anthem. | Read More >>


60. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (60-51)

Sailor Monsoon | March 22, 2018

The hero is only as memorable as the villain he’s fighting. James Bond is one of the most iconic characters ever but the only films anyone gives a shit about are the ones where the villain is amazing. From the mustachio twirling, train track tying ne’er-do-wells to mask wearing slashers to universe destroying uber baddies, cinema has had a long love affair with evildoers but which one is the most dastardly? | Read More >>


59. ‘The Truman Show’: My Favorite Film, 20 Years Later

Cap N’ Jack | January 14, 2018

When I first saw the Truman Show, I was probably twelve or thirteen and wasn’t really sure what I was watching. It was a VHS from the library my parents had procured and, as was the system then, I watched whatever everyone else was watching as long as I wasn’t kicked out. As such, I was in a unique position not to really understand what the central conceit was until partway through the movie. I knew only as much as Jim Carrey’s Truman Burbank, only realizing the truth of his reality at the midway point, as he does. | Read More >>


58. The 100 Greatest Movie Villains Of All Time (The Cut List)

Sailor Monsoon | March 7, 2018

Famed sculptor and pizza enthusiast Michelangelo once said, “The sculpture is already complete within the marble block, before I start my work. It is already there, I just have to chisel away the superfluous material.” While never being my favorite ninja turtle, he is nonetheless correct. Obviously the process between creating a list and sculpting a statue is completely different, the logic is still the same. Just chisel away everything that doesn’t belong and you’re left with nothing but your vision. | Read More >>


57. 18 for 18: The Best Scenes in the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Michael and the Argonauts | April 2, 2018

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been THE unstoppable entertainment juggernaut of this century. Nobody can deny this. Netflix changed the home entertainment game (which Marvel was also apart of) but Marvel Studios changed movies, for better or for worse. This statement is only further confirmed by the well-deserved and astronomical success of Black Panther; a movie released in February. Think on that. Mere years ago February was considered the cinematic graveyard of the calendar. Now a MCU superhero movie where its entire cast/story/hero represents so much to so many people is breaking records by the claw full. It’s currently sitting at $1.29 billion globally. Billion with a B. | Read More >>


56. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (90-81)

Sailor Monsoon | March 14, 2018

What Makes a Great Villain? When ranking the best of the worst, there had to be a set of ground rules. 1. The villain doesn’t have to be fictional but his evil deeds must be depicted in a film. Hitler may be the ultimate evil but the film needs to depict him as the ultimate evil. 2. Anti-heroes can be included based on the the strength of their villainous period. Travis Bickle and Loki, for example. 3. The villains have to be intelligent beings with malicious intent. This rules out animals, forces of nature (such as storms, plagues or viruses), or characters that aren’t aware they’re doing evil. No Godzilla, no shark from Jaws and no Zombies. | Read More >>


55. Let’s Talk About… ‘Sullivan’s Travels’ (1941)

Mark Naff | March 20, 2018

The 1930’s and 1940’s were a hectic time in America’s history. The great depression and war affected many people. As a result, comedy filmmakers from this time period wanted to move onto more serious material. Frank Capra went from making light comedies like the Oscar-winning It Happened One Night (1934) to more serious-minded material like Mr. Smith goes to Washington (1939) and It’s a Wonderful Life (1946). George Stevens stopped making comedies after his experiences making films in the war. | Read More >>


54. Half Way There: The Films Of 2018

Sailor Monsoon | July 19, 2018

The world is on fire. Schools are getting shot up at an alarming rate, actresses are leaving Twitter over harassment, children are being locked in cages, the house of mouse is slowly becoming an all powerful conglomerate and a Star Wars film flopped. It’s like pandemonium married anarchy or if Orwell, Gibson and Huxley all had gross sex and the repugnant after birth is now our reality. As a society, we’re starting to regress but the brightside is, life is like one of those cheap plastic zipcars. You have to go backwards to go forwards. | Read More >>


53. FanCast: All the Monsters for Universal’s Dark Universe

Marmaduke Karlston | June 9, 2018

A couple weeks ago we did a FanCast for Universal’s next Dark Universe film The Bride of Frankenstein. With The Mummy opening today, as well as confirmed reports that three more monsters will be part of this new cinematic universe, I thought it was time to do a mega FanCast for the rest of the Dark Universe. | Read More >>


52. When Romance Turns Deadly: The Modern Domestic Thriller

Mark Naff | September 7, 2018

In 1971, Play Misty for Me became one of the first domestic thrillers, but the film that would define the genre came sixteen years later: Fatal Attraction (1987), which nobody wanted to make at first. It became a runaway success that would inspire thrillers for years. | Read More >>


51. ‘Rick And Morty’ Reviews: Season 3 Episode 3 “Pickle Rick”

Joshua Martyniouk | August 14, 2017

After almost a week of waiting for this review of this insane episode! The long wait is over and trust me it’s worth it! I’m sorry for the long wait life got in the way. Please understand. I think making a review before a new Rick And Morty episode is perfect. But I can make it earlier if you want. Alright time to review my favorite episode of the season so far. Pickle Rick! | Read More >>


Tomorrow… #50 to 26!