Best of FilmExodus: The Top 100 Reviews & Editorials of 2018 (25-1)

Reviews allow people a chance to get a feel of a film or television show before actually watching it. A well-written review can persuade a person to either see or avoid a film. There’s a sense of power in writing your opinion down on page and the feeling inside you is nothing you have ever felt before.

Editorials expand on this feeling. Instead of just reviewing a film, you are pulling apart and analyzing every single scene. The writer has to ponder why a director made this decision or shot this scene with that lighting. A good editorial can make the reader completely rethink a film he may have already seen countless times.

Starting last Monday, FilmExodus has been counting down its top 100 most viewed reviews and editorials of 2018. Enjoy.

Previous Installments: 100-76, 75-51, 50-26.


25. FanCast: Damon Lindelof’s Watchmen

Sailor Monsoon | June 21, 2017

With the news just breaking about Damon Lindelof helming a television series based on the acclaimed graphic novel Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons, it’s time, once again, for FanCast. You know the rules (Are there rules?) Pick an actor/actress you think would be the best choice for the character in question. Or whoever you wanna see in the role. | Read More >>


24. What Cinematic Skeletons Are Hiding in Your Closet?

William Dhalgren | January 25, 2018

I’ve noticed a recurring theme popping up in different comment threads here on the site recently, and I thought it was worth a larger conversation: Let’s call it “cultural elitism”. I may or may not have pulled that term out of my southernmost orifice, so I’ll elaborate. As film fans, movies we’re supposed to have seen (but haven’t) or movies we’re supposed to have liked (but didn’t) are never far from our minds. It comes up in conversations on this site and sites like it all the time. | Read More >>


23. Lenz on Cinema: The Generation Gap

Mark Naff | October 16, 2018

Throughout her long and storied career, Kay Lenz has starred in every type of film and TV show, from comedy to drama to thriller. Daughter of a television Producer, Lenz has acted across from William Holden, Lee Marvin, Anthony Quinn, Charles Bronson, Burt Reynolds, and James Woods, often as a love interest or supporting role. She had a brief role in American Graffiti (1973). She played a role in Rod Stewart’s music video for “Infatuation.” | Read More >>


22. The 100 Greatest Horror Characters Of All Time (10-1)

Sailor Monsoon | October 31, 2018

Since birth, we’ve been indoctrinated with a love of horror, whether we knew it or not. The first game your mother would play with you involved her hiding behind her hands and then shouting “Boo!” We were taught folk tales that involved a witch wanting to eat children or a wolf wearing the skin of an elderly woman. Some of us were warned of the Krampus, who’d kidnap misbehaving little boys and girls. | Read More >>


21. What’s On The Grill? July 18th – July 25th

Vincent Kane | July 25, 2018

Welcome Exiles to this week’s  What’s On The Grill?, the weekly mini-review corner where we get to blast about whatever we’ve caught recently, feasted on with our eyes as some say. This week on the grill: An art house “masterpiece”, bad cheesy horror, and a friendly rom-com. | Read More >>


20. The 20 Most Overrated Films Of All Time (10-1)

Sailor Monsoon | December 6, 2018

The point of this list isn’t to attack films that are unworthy of awards (Argo, Crash, Forrest Gump, Avatar, Dances with Wolves or Chicago) or to shit on fan favorites (Star Wars, Frozen, Interstellar or Black Panther) because as overrated as those films are, I still understand why they’re so beloved. Films built around nostalgia, involve cute animals or kids and/or have great songs included don’t baffle me. These twenty films however, do. These are the films that made me ask “why the fuck is this so popular?” | Read More >>


19. Sociology and Economics in Comedies: Eddie Murphy from the 1980’s to Today

Mark Naff | June 4, 2018

Starting in the 1980’s, the portrayal of black people became more nuanced in terms of social and economic status. This happened because of a number of different factors, from more opportunities being given to more complex roles being written. There’s one person who represents this shift in mainstream comedies better than anybody else: Eddie Murphy. | Read More >>


18. Road to Infinity: ‘Thor: The Dark World’ (2013) Review

Stray | April 11, 2018

I should start by admitting my bias. I am basically Thor. I mean, obviously I do not own a magical hammer or can control lightning or anything like that. However, we are both Australian, incredibly attractive, and bearded. To be honest, my beard is probably a bit better, but I will try not to let this beard bias influence my review. Now that that is out of the way, onto the review. | Read More >>


17. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (100-91)

Sailor Monsoon | March 12, 2018

The Monomyth was first conceived by Joseph Campbell in his 1949 novel The Hero with a Thousand Faces. It is a literary term conceptualized by Campbell that details the stages of the hero’s journey. He identified a pattern throughout mythology and literature and condensed it down to seventeen stages. Hollywood executive Christopher Vogler would later edit it down to twelve stages and his version would be the blueprint that every film would use from then on. The Ordinary World, The Call to Adventure, Refusal of the Call, Meeting with the Mentor, Crossing the first Threshold, Tests, Allies and Enemies, Approach of the Innermost Cave, The Ordeal, The Reward, The Road Back, The Resurrection and The Return with the Elixir. | Read More >>


16. Should Lucasfilm Listen to its Fans?

William Dhalgren | June 24, 2018

Two weeks ago, I wrote about the current state of Star Wars. At the time, Solo: A Star Wars Story had been deemed the first Star Wars “flop”, and rumors of Lucasfilm chief Kathleen Kennedy’s impending dismissal were making the rounds everywhere online. | Read More >>


15. Road to Infinity: ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ (2014) Review

Satirical | April 13, 2018

I want to say first and foremost that I am not a comic book person.  Sure, I have read some here and there, mainly the staples and iconic books, so no, I am not familiar with a lot of the source material.  Calm down; before you start shaking your good World of Warcraft clicking hand at me, I think even the most hardcore comic book reader would be forgiven for not knowing who the Guardians of the Galaxy were. Saying that they were a D-list superhero team is stretching the very definition of the term, and whenever you do that, you know Danny Bonnaducci is gonna be nearby. Marvel Studios themselves almost appear to be making fun of this fact when in the opening scene, Korath (Djimon Hounsou) asks “Who?” as our main protagonist over confidently states his self-given nickname, expecting immediate recognition. | Read More >>


14. Road to Infinity: ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’ (2011) Review

Sailor Monsoon | April 6, 2018

Every superhero Jack Kirby created (or co-created, if we are being generous), started with a mixture of real life events and a theme. He would take a topical event and integrate it with a thesis, usually based on a literary inspiration. The Incredible Hulk is about duality of man, the good part wrestling with the bad part and the obvious parallel is Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. The X-Men are super powered mutants but that’s a loose analogy for any minority living in America in the ’60s. You can trace this trend all the way back to the beginning; with the first super hero he’d work on: Captain America. | Read More >>


13. A Satire, Not a Mystery: ‘The Black Dahlia’ (2006) Review

Mark Naff | April 5, 2018

In 2006, Universal released Brian De Palma’s adaptation of James Ellroy’s The Black Dahlia, starring Josh Hartnett, Scarlett Johansson, Aaron Eckhart, and Hilary Swank. It met with poor reviews and box office (Making 49 Million on a 50-million-dollar budget). Many critics called it convoluted and over the top. They also singled out Josh Hartnett’s performance as wooden and Aaron Eckhart’s as over the top (The New York Times dubbed them “Mr. Droopy and Mr. Hammy”). While not a great film, I believe that critics and audiences misjudged based on an unfair comparison to Curtis Hanson’s adaptation of L.A. Confidential (1997), bad marketing, and a misunderstanding of the story’s intentions. | Read More >>


12. Road to Infinity: ‘The Incredible Hulk’ (2008) Review

Harris Frankou | April 3, 2018

I totally skipped The Incredible Hulk at the cinema assuming it was a sequel to Ang Lee’s Hulk and not part of the budding Marvel Cinematic Universe. Watching Iron Man with some students while at Art/Animation School with mostly an eclectic geek crowd was an amazing revelation with the Nick Fury post-credits scene. I gasped as he mentioned a “bigger universe” and “the Avengers Initiative.” | Read More >>


11. Is the World Ready for Another Conan Adaptation?

William Dhalgren | August 20, 2018

If you missed it, back in February Deadline reported that Amazon was working on a new series based on R.E. Howard’s popular pulp character Conan the Barbarian. Though the character has his roots in literature, he’s no stranger to the screen. He has appeared in three films (four if you count the regrettable 1985 film Red Sonja), two animated TV series, and a live-action TV series everyone except Ralf Möller is trying to forget. | Read More >>


10. Road to Infinity: ‘Iron Man 2’ (2010) Review

D. Knight 9113 | April 4, 2018

Right off the bat, I am going to say that I enjoyed this movie. I know that this is a divisive movie, but I have to say that I had fun with it. So now that we have that out of the way, let us begin. This was the third movie in the, then new, Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), back when it was honestly an awesome endeavor that I remember some people said wouldn’t make it past The Avengers. Oh how wrong they were. | Read More >>


09. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (40-31)

Sailor Monsoon | March 27, 2018

Just like how every script has a three act structure, every film that involves a hero on a quest can be broken down to these twelve elements. But that doesn’t mean that each step is important. The formula may be ironclad but there’s one step that’s far more crucial than the others and that’s step six: Tests, Allies, and Enemies. The hero can be uninteresting and the quest uninspired but if your villain is lame, nobody will remember. The hero is only as memorable as the villain he’s fighting. James Bond is one of the most iconic characters ever but the only films anyone gives a shit about are the ones where the villain is amazing. | Read More >>


08. Road to Infinity: ‘Avengers: Infinity War’ (2018) Review (Spoiler Free)

King Alvarez | April 24, 2018

Avengers: Infinity War is nothing short of spectacular. From beginning to end (and obviously, stay till the VERY end), spectacular. Every character you have grown to love over these past 10 years brings their “A” game and then some. There are so many stars in this, yet no one shines brighter than the next. Each one truly plays off of each other so well and so naturally. Its amazing to witness it all on the big screen. We all know the Russo Brothers know how to weave multiple characters/story arcs well. We have already seen that in Civil War, and this movie takes that, dialing it up to 11. Infinity War has everything. Action, comedy, drama, and most importantly heart. | Read More >>


07. TheDeadFellow’s Ten Favorite Films of 2017

The DeadFellow | January 23, 2018

Before I begin, however, I wish to lay down two ground rules: Some films I loved from this year – such as Logan, A Cure For Wellness, Good Time and more – could not make into the final list for one reason or another. If you wish to see all of the films I saw in 2017, just click here for my full log. No, Blade Runner 2049 is not on here and I do not wish to deal with the endless horde screaming at its omission. This is my list, not yours. | Read More >>


06. Audrey Hepburn and Maggie McNamara: A History

Mark Naff | August 2, 2018

In 1954, two women were nominated for the Academy Award for best actress. One starred as Princess Ann, a frustrated princess hiding in Rome in Roman Holiday (1953) and the other starred as Patty O’Neill, an eccentric working class woman searching for a husband in The Moon Is Blue (1953). Both were born in the late 1920’s. Both witnessed their parents’ divorce when they were 9 years old. Both played a love interest to the Best actor winner of that year William Holden. | Read More >>


05. The 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time (10-1)

Sailor Monsoon | April 2, 2018

The hero can be uninteresting and the quest uninspired but if your villain is lame, nobody will remember. The hero is only as memorable as the villain he’s fighting. James Bond is one of the most iconic characters ever but the only films anyone gives a shit about are the ones where the villain is amazing. From the mustachio twirling, train track tying ne’er-do-wells to mask wearing slashers to universe destroying uber baddies, cinema has had a long love affair with evildoers but which one is the most dastardly? | Read More >>


04. Let’s Talk About… ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’

The DeadFellow | May 30, 2018

What is there left to say on what will probably be seen as one of the most controversial blockbusters of this decade, Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi? Pretty much from its day one release date, the film was met with critical acclaim from critics but absurdly stiff resistance from hardcore Star Wars fans who accused it of sacrilege and so called “SJW pandering”. Over the past few months, the debates continue to rage: Is it worthy of its previous lineage? Is it an insult and disgrace like so many YouTube 2 hour plus videos say it is? Is just an average installment overblown by both sides? Is it at least competent at a basic filmmaking level? Why am I asking you all of this shit? | Read More >>


03. Let’s Talk About… ‘The Lost City of Z’ (2016)

The DeadFellow | May 11, 2018

It’s rare to come across a movie that’s not just flat out great, but a genuine masterpiece in every regard: writing. acting. storytelling, cinematography, and editing. It’s easy to love a movie but to fully feel passionate about it is something else. One that refuses to leave the mind, as its images, sounds, and feelings you had never leave. There’s an old expression, “It’s a sign of a good movie if you can’t stop thinking about it” but in some instances, I feel that can be bullshit, especially when you watch some unspeakable trainwrecks you can’t get over. | Read More >>


02. Howard Hughes and Pop Culture: How One Man Affected The Portrayal of OCD

Mark Naff | August 30, 2018

Throughout his life, Hughes was known for being eccentric, but towards the end he became more withdrawn and reclusive. He locked himself away. He watched the movie Ice Station Zebra (1968) 150 times. The public asked what could drive a once powerful titan of industry mad. Years after his death, historians came to the conclusion that he suffered from Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder or OCD. From this point on, filmmakers decided to base almost all of its characters around symptoms similar to Hughes’ (a focus on cleanliness, neatness, germs, etc.). | Read More >>


01. The State of Star Wars

William Dhalgren | June 9, 2018

After a tepid opening weekend and a less than encouraging second weekend at the box office, several news outlets are now calling Solo: A Star Wars Story a “flop”. This wouldn’t be such a shock if we weren’t talking about Star Wars, a film franchise that, in the new millennium, is second only to the Marvel Cinematic Universe in in terms of worldwide box office ticket sales. (If you’re thinking second place is nothing to brag about, it’s worth mentioning that 11 Star Wars films only trail 19 Marvel movies by $2.5 billion*.) Of course, discussing total grosses for older films gets a bit trickier considering the importance of overseas markets for Hollywood films is a fairly recent phenomenon, but the domestic market can be used to compare individual films, old and new alike. | Read More >>


Before I dive into some analysis —just for fun— let’s see who had the most posts across the top 100: Joshua Martyniouk (2), DryButSoupy (2), Poppity (2), Mr. Poppity (2), BB Ben (2), FilmExodus Community (2), Joe Newman (3), The DeadFellow (3), Cap N’ Jack (3), William Dhalgren (5), Marmaduke Karlston (6), Vincent Kane (13), Mark Naff (15), and Sailor Monsoon (28).


I crunched the numbers and here’s what it looks like you feckers enjoy reading about the most:

  • Road to Infinity: Our Marvel Cinematic Universe review series leading up to the release of Avengers: Infinity War was a huge success in April 0f 2018.
  • Top 20/25/100: Every edition of The Top 100 Greatest Villains Of All Time made the list. You also liked Sailor Monsoon’s Top 20 Overrated Movies, Top 25 Christmas Movies, Top 100 Horror Characters, and Top 100 Cartoons. It’s safe to say Top 100 is one of FilmExodus’ favorite series.
  • What’s On the Grill?: We like to talk about what we watch every week, so sue us.
  • Lenz on Cinema & Mark Naff: Mark Naff’s Lenz on Cinema series, documenting the history of cinema through the career of Kay Lenz, was a reoccurring hit throughout the later part of 2018. In general, Mark Naff is one of the most consistent authors on FilmExodus, churning out quality editorials.
  • The AFI 100: A number of AFI 100 reviews made the list, including One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Jaws, Forrest Gump, and Platoon.
  • Star Wars & William Dhalgren: When Dhalgren writes, people listen. The State of Star Wars editorial was shared almost 200 times on Facebook and racked up a healthy share of hits. People were also keen on his thoughts on the upcoming Conan adaptation and cinematic skeletons.

Thank-you to every FilmExodus author for creating original content for the site. Whether you made the Top 100 or not, your contributions to the site should be applauded. And, of course, thank-you to everyone for reading the reviews and editorials! What will our top 100 look like for 2019? Will Dhalgren share his sentiments on The Mandalorian and Episode IX? Will The DeadFellow pore his heart and soul into another great review like The Lost City of Z? Will the FilmExodus Community come up with a great set of FilmExodus Ranks for 2019? Will we find a new review series that even stands a chance of matching the success of Road to Infinity?

Keep coming back to FilmExodus.com this year to find out how us feckers will manage to keep you entertained throughout 2019.